Book #4

I finished “The Glittering Court” the other day, so it’s time for Book #4! (Really #3). I read the inside cover flap after I finished the book, since I had to go into it knowing nothing except that I liked the cover, and I have to say it was misleading. The book bills itself as a story about a young girl who runs away from her wealthy family to join a boarding school called the “Glittering Court”, where girls will be trained as ladies and taken to find husbands in the new world, a country across the sea. However, the chapter after arriving at the court, eight months had passed and I therefore new next to nothing about the characters but was expected to sympathize with them all the same. The lead character, who is referred to as Adeline for the whole book even though her name is Elizabeth, spends most of the story skipping her duties as a girl of the Court, breaking the law, and chasing after the founder’s son, who just so happens to be involved in an illegal religion. I’m not sure how this author is a #1 bestseller, because I found her story and writing to be lacking in many respects. I do not think I will continue with this series.

Hopefully Book #4 will turn out better – I have high hopes for this one…

A book you own but haven’t read.
A book that was made into a movie.
A book you pick solely because of the cover.
A book your friend loves.
A book published this year.
A book by an author you’ve never read before.
A book by an author you love.
A book at the bottom of your to-read pile.
A book with a color in the title.
A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit.
A book you started but never finished.
A book with a lion, a witch, or a wardrobe.
A book with a female heroine.
A book set in the summer.
A book of poems.
A book you learned about because of this challenge.
A book that will make you smarter.
A book with a blue cover.
A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t.
A book “everyone” but you has read.
A book with a great first line.
A book with pictures.
A book from the library.
A book you loved – read it again!
A book that is more than ten years old.
A book based on a true story.

Book number four (or technically three as “Me Before You” still hasn’t shown up) is going to be…

Waterfall

My friend and editor adores this series, so I decided to read book one for the challenge, “A book that your friend loves.” I have to request it from my library, so it may take a while to come in, but I’ll read it fast and then move on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

